Municipalities of Negros Oriental

Negros Oriental is subdivided in 6 cities and 19 municipalities. Those municipalities of Negros Oriental belong to the different legislative districts, which represent the province in the Philippine House of Representatives. Before 1972 the province had only 2 congressional districts.

1st District of Negros Oriental

The first district of Negros Oriental is the north-east area of the island. Approximately 400.000 people are living in the two Cities and seven municipalities of the first district.

Canlaon City

Canlaon City is located at the northern end of the province of Negros Oriental, Philippines.

Guihulngan City

Guihulngan is a city in the northern part of Negros Oriental. The city has a population of about 95,000.

Municipality of Ayungon

Going to Ayungon takes  two hours travel north  from Dumaguete City, the provincial capital.

Municipality of Bindoy

The municipality of Bindoy is a two hour drive from the capital of Negros oriental, Dumaguete City.

Municipality of Jimalalud

Jimalalud is located in the first congressional district of the province north of Dumaguete City.

Municipality of La Libertad

La Libertad in Negros Oriental is rated as a 3rd class municipality in this province.

Municipality of Tayasan

Tayasan is a municpality approximately 70 kilometers north of Dumaguete City.

Municipality of Vallehermoso

Vallehermoso was founded by Don Diego de la Viña y de la Rosa, a revolutionary and local hero.

Municipality of Manjuyod

Manjuyod is 60 kilometers north of Dumaguete and famous for its white sandbar.

2nd District of Negros Oriental

Dumaguete City, the capital of Negros Oriental belongs to the second district, which is subdivided in 3 cities and five municipalities. The second district is the central east part of the province. The population is around 500.000 people, with numbers increasing.

Bais City

Bais City is a third class city and the second district of Negros Oriental and famous for its dolphins.

Dumaguete City

Dumaguete City is the Capital of Negros Oriental and a population of about 130.000

Tanjay City

On April 1, 2001 Tanjay City, north of Dumaguete, became an official city in the Philippines.

Municipality of Amlan

The settlement was named after “Alman”, a variety of guava growing there.

Municipality of Mabinay

Mabinay, the cave-capital of the country was originally carved from the barrios of Bais.

Municipality of Pamplona

Pamplona is a municipality located about 38 kilometers north of Dumaguete.

 Municipality of San Jose

San Jose is a fifth class municipality just a few kilometers north of Dumaguete.

Municipality of Sibulan

Sibulan is a 2nd class municipality just north of Dumaguete and home to the airport.

3rd District of Negros Oriental

The south part of the island makes up the third district and has the biggest land-area. Bayawan is the only city of the district which has 7 municipalities. The population is like the 1st district somewhere around 400.000 people.

Bayawan City

Bayawan City in the south is also called the “Agricultural Capital of Negros Oriental”.

Municipality of Bacong

Bacong is a small coastal town neighboring Dumaguete City on its south just 10 Minutes away.

Municipality of Basay

Basay is located in the south western part of the Negros Oriental province.

Municipality of Dauin

Dauin is a town 15 kilometers south of Dumaguete and home to world/class diving.

Municipality of Sta. Catalina

The name of the municipality is taken after  Santa Catalina de Alejandria.

Municipality of Siaton

Siaton, a beautiful town, is referred to as the ‘rice bowl’ of the South in Negros Oriental.

Municipality of Valencia

The nature paradise of Valencia is located 9 kilometers west and uphill of the City of Dumaguete.


Zamboanguita literally means, “hanging octopus” and is the door to Apo Island.